Start of the walk in Thornton Hough, Cheshire

A short, flat walk between villages with a feel of the countryside.

Route; from Thornton Hough to Brimstage and back again.  Along farm tracks, field paths and covered bridleways.  All flat. No gradient at all.  A couple of stiles but mainly gates and relatively easy access.  The route can be found in Jen Darling’s book; Walks in West Cheshire and Wirral (Northern Eye).

Distance; 3 miles.  An hour and ten minutes.

Facilities; Toilets at Brimstage Craft Centre , together with a cafe and shops.

This was an ideal short walk to blow away the cobwebs after I spent most of the last week in bed with the flu (I don’t care if you think it’s only a cold, it felt like the flu to me!!).

We started at Thornton Heath, simply on the basis that we thought there would be easier parking.  However, there is ample parking at Brimstage Craft Centre and, if you time it right, a cold day like today might demand a hot chocolate drink in the cafe at the walk’s end!

I wouldn’t say it was the most scenic of routes but it does take you down some very pretty covered walkways, across wide tree-lined drives and over crunchy chestnuts and leaves.  An excellent late autumn walk and easily accessible from Liverpool or Manchester.

 

NB;  I have been very remiss in that there are a number of walks I simply have not had time to record.  There are about five or six of them including; Denbigh, North Wales; Frodsham, Cheshire; a walk near Chatsworth House, Derbs; Redesmere, nr. Macclesfield, Cheshire and Longshaw Country Park, Hope Valley, Derbs. 

As soon as I have the time (and, I discover belatedly, as soon as I find my missing notebook in which all of these walks are recorded!) I will stick them all on one post.  Once I am up to date I will have no excuse (repeat NO EXCUSE) for not keeping the blog up to date.  

Leave a Reply

